Celebrating Jerome Robbins talk at the Atrium Theatre (c) Erik Tomasson



Visiting ScholarS

San Francisco Ballet’s Visiting Scholar program invites an established scholar to participate in San Francisco Ballet’s Audience Engagement Programs during the Repertory Season. The goal of this program is to bring cutting-edge scholarship on ballet to San Francisco Ballet’s audiences, students, and staff. Visiting Scholars are asked to present excerpts from their scholarly work to Company audiences during Pointes of View Lectures, participate in special topics symposia, and give talks about their area of research to San Francisco Ballet School students and Company staff.

Our Visiting Scholars and Scholar-in-Residence Programs are on hold for 2024.


2021 Nyama McCarthy Brown (Ohio State University)
2020 Simon Morrison (Princeton University)
2019 Clare Croft (University of Michigan)
2018 James Steichen (Stanford University)
2017 Thomas DeFrantz  (Duke University)
2016 Debra Sowell (Southern Virginia University)
2014 Stephanie Jordan  (University of Roehampton)
2013 Tim Scholl  (Oberlin College)
2012 Beth Genné  (University of Michigan)
2011 Doug Fullington  (Pacific Northwest Ballet)
2010 Richard Taruskin (UC Berkeley)
2009 Janice Ross  (Stanford University)
2008 Jennifer Fisher  (UC Irvine)
2007 Lynn Garafola (Barnard College)
2006 Deborah Jowitt (New York University)


San Francisco Ballet’s Scholar-in-Residence program is designed to encourage scholarship that examines San Francisco Ballet’s history, repertory, and artists. This program provides one scholar or advanced student per year a monetary grant and access to San Francisco Ballet’s archives, rehearsals, and performances, as necessitated by the recipient’s project, for the purpose of research leading to a publishable book or article.

Applicants should be prepared to work in the SF Ballet archives at the Museum of Performance and Design and in the SF Ballet studios in San Francisco, CA. If applicants desire access to rehearsals or performances, they will need to be flexible with regard to the Company’s schedule and availability.

Please note that our Visiting Scholars and Scholar-in-Residence Programs are on hold for 2024.


Madelyn Coupe

Carrie Gaiser Casey

Maeve Sterbenz

Brynn Shiovitz