San Francisco Ballet in Balanchine's Rubies




A ballet in three parts. George Balanchine’s full-length masterpiece, inspired by displays at New York City jeweler Van Cleef & Arpels, is made up of three separate ballets—Emeralds, Rubies, and Diamonds. Emeralds, set to music by Fauré, is a forest green meditation in long, Romantic-style skirts, influenced by the French style of ballet—decorous, restrained, pristine. Rubies, set to Stravinsky, is more like Times Square at midnight: bright lights, rushing crowds, and a touch of jazz. Diamonds, set to Tchaikovsky, is a glittering homage to Imperial Russia and the grand style of Marius Petipa, the father of classical ballet.

*Note: Rubies and Diamonds will be archival captures.

April 1 – April 21, 2021

Composers: Gabriel Fauré, Igor Stravinsky, Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Choreographer: George Balanchine

Streaming access available beginning 6 pm on Apr 1.

To apply your SF Ballet credit, please contact Ticket and Patron Services at 415-865-2000 Mon–Fri, 10 am–4 pm.


A female dancer balances on left leg; two male dancers hold her hands, another her raised right leg, another her left ankle

Delve into the magic and glamour of Jewels by George Balanchine—one of the most famous and prolific choreographers of the 20th century.

Your Ultimate Guide to Balanchine's Jewels – Read | Listen
About George Balanchine's JewelsRead

previous arrow
next arrow