Program 8

Brahms-Schoenberg Quartet
Glass Pieces

MAY 1-MAY 11, 2014


Program 8: Triple-Bill

Total running time: 2 hours 22 minutes, two intermissions

The final program of the season features works by two of the greatest choreographers of the 20th century: George Balanchine and Jerome Robbins. A collaboration with composer Igor Stravinsky, Agon is a Balanchine classic: a post-modern masterpiece showcasing the strength and beauty of the human body. Set to Brahms’ Piano Quartet No 1 in G minor, Balanchine’s Brahms–Schoenberg Quartet reveals a full range of choreographic styles, musical flavors, and colorful costumes. The program concludes with Robbins’ exhilarating Glass Pieces. Set to a throbbing score by Philip Glass, Glass Pieces is a heart-stopping work that pulses with the energy of a big city.


View the available principal casting for Program 8 on our blog.

Performance Dates

Thursday, May 1, 8pm
Saturday, May 3, 2pm
Saturday, May 3, 8pm
Tuesday, May 6, 8pm
Wednesday, May 7, 7:30pm
Friday, May 9, 8pm
Sunday, May 11, 2pm

What’s the difference between a classical ballet and a neoclassical ballet? Find out in this episode of Instant Expert, as we explore the life of George Balanchine, whose work best exemplifies neoclassicism in ballet.



Composer: Igor Stravinsky
Choreographer: George Balanchine

Brahms-Schoenberg Quartet
Composer: Johannes Brahms Orchestrated by Arnold Schoenberg 1937
Choreographer: George Balanchine

Glass Pieces
Composer: Philip Glass
Choreographer: Jerome Robbins

2016 Nutcracker Pre-Sale
San Francisco Ballet in Tomasson's Nutcracker. (© Erik Tomasson)

Subscribers,  donors of $200+, and patrons with a valid promo code have special access to Nutcracker tickets. Please click the "Buy Tickets" button below.

Buy Tickets


For additional questions call Ticket Services.

415 865 2000

Monday – Friday
10am – 4pm

On performance days, the phones open at 10am and stay open until the performance begins.