Program 7

Francesca da Rimini
Symphony in Three Movements

APRIL 11-APRIL 21, 2013

Casting announced!

Program Seven features Helgi Tomasson’s Criss-Cross, last seen by SF Ballet audiences in 1999, and set to a two-part musical score—Charles Avison’s reworking of twelve Scarlatti sonatas for harpsichord and a Handel-influenced Schoenberg concerto. The program continues with the return of Possokhov’s gripping Francesca da Rimini, set to Tchaikovsky’s music and based on Dante’s Inferno, and concludes with Balanchine’s iconic Symphony in Three Movements. Having made its SF Ballet premiere in 2000 and set to Stravinsky’s score of the same title, Balanchine’s large scale ballet has since become one of the Company’s signature works, thrilling audiences both at home and around the world.

Approximate running time for Program 7 is: 2 hours and 3 minutes

Performance dates:

Thu 11, 8pm
Sat 13, 2pm/8pm
Tue 16, 8pm
Wed 17, 7:30pm
Fri 19, 8pm
Sun 21, 2pm


Principal Dancer Pierre-François Vilanoba’s Final Performances With SF Ballet
April 20-21

SF Ballet recently announced that Principal Dancer Pierre-François Vilanoba will retire from its roster at the conclusion of the 2013 Repertory Season. Vilanoba’s final performances with the Company will be Program 6: Saturday, April 20 (in Val Caniparoli’s Ibsen’s House), and Program 7: Sunday, April 21 (Balanchine’s Symphony in Three Movements). Read more about Pierre-François on our blog. For full casting information, visit our casting page.

The 1997 world premiere of Criss Cross was made possible by The Edward E. Hills Fund.

The 2012 world premiere of Francesca da Rimini was made possible by Lead Sponsors Athena and Timothy Blackburn and the Gaia Fund, with additional support from the TeRoller Fund for New Productions and the Byron R. Meyer Choreographers Fund of the San Francisco Ballet Endowment Foundation.

Composer: Domenico Scarlatti, Arnold Schoenberg
Choreographer: Helgi Tomasson

Francesca da Rimini
Composer: Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Choreographer: Yuri Possokhov

Symphony in Three Movements
Composer: Igor Stravinsky
Choreographer: George Balanchine

2016 Nutcracker Pre-Sale
San Francisco Ballet in Tomasson's Nutcracker. (© Erik Tomasson)

Subscribers,  donors of $200+, and patrons with a valid promo code have special access to Nutcracker tickets. Please click the "Buy Tickets" button below.

Buy Tickets


For additional questions call Ticket Services.

415 865 2000

Monday – Friday
10am – 4pm

On performance days, the phones open at 10am and stay open until the performance begins.