Shostakovich Trilogy

Shostakovich Trilogy
Composer: Dmitri Shostakovich
Choreographer: Alexei Ratmansky

Alexei Ratmansky’s hit Shostakovich Trilogy returns to SF Ballet after garnering ecstatic critical and audience acclaim at its 2014 SF Ballet premiere. Declared "a masterpiece" by SF Chronicle, and “fascinating, poetic, and enigmatic” by The New York Times, Ratmansky’s trilogy, a SF Ballet co-commission with American Ballet Theatre, is made up of three distinct ballets—Symphony #9, Chamber Symphony, and Piano Concerto #1—set to Dmitri Shostakovich’s orchestral works.​

Part of the Principal 8 and 5 packages.

2 hours with two intermissions

Staged by: Nancy Raffa
Scenic Designer: George Tsypin
Costume Designer: Keso Dekker
Lighting Designer: Jennifer Tipton

The 2014 San Francisco Ballet premiere of Alexei Ratmansky's Shostakovich Trilogy was made possible by New Productions Fund Lead Sponsors Mrs. Jeannik Méquet Littlefield, and Mr. and Mrs. John S. Osterweis; Major Sponsors Rudolf Nureyev Dance Foundation, and Larry and Joyce Stupski; and Sponsors Richard C. Barker, Christine H. Russell Fund of the Columbia Foundation, Suzy Kellems Dominik, Stephanie Barlage Ejabat, Gaia Fund, The William Randolph Hearst Foundation, Cecilia and Jim Herbert, and Diane B. Wilsey.