Meet the Artist Interviews

Our popular pre-performance Meet the Artist Interviews (MTAs) spotlight a work to be performed that afternoon/evening. These informative talks feature artists and choreographers in conversation with a moderator. Interviews are 30 minutes and take place on the Orchestra Level one hour prior to the performance. Open to all ticket holders.


Tickets
FREE and open to all ticket holders.

Schedule
Meet the Artist Interviews are from 1-1:30pm before Sundays matinees and 7-7:30pm before Friday evening performances.

Listen to past Meet the Artist Inteviews
Select Meet the Artist Interviews are available on our Meet the Artist Interviews Audio page.

Upcoming Meet the Artist Interviews

Sunday, May 1 at 1-1:30pm
Meet the Orchestra - Music Director and Principal Conductor Martin West with the San Francisco Ballet Orchestra.

Friday, May 6 at 7-7:30pm
Sunday, May 8 at 1-1:30pm

Past Meet the Artist Interviews

Sunday, Jan 24 at 1-1:30pm
Writer for San Francisco Ballet and Dance Studio Life Editor in Chief Cheryl Ossola interviews Pas/Parts 2016 Choreographer William Forsythe.
 
Friday, Jan 29 at 7-7:30pm
Dance Educator Mary Wood interviews Fearful Symmetries Choreographer Liam Scarlett.
   
Sunday, Jan 31 at 1-1:30pm
Founder of St. Mary’s College of California LEAP Program Claire Sheridan interviews Former Principal Dancer and SF Ballet School Faculty Tina LeBlanc.

Friday, Feb 5 at 7-7:30pm
Writer for San Francisco Ballet and Dance Studio Life Editor in Chief Cheryl Ossola interviews Soloist Jennifer Stahl.

Friday, Feb 19 at 7-7:30pm 
Dance Educator Mary Wood interviews SF Ballet’s 2016 Visiting Scholar Dance Historian Debra Sowell, Ph.D., author of The Christensen Brothers: An American Dance Epic.

Sunday, Feb 21 at 1-1:30pm 
Director of Education and Training Andrea Yannone interviews SF Ballet Orchestra’s Concertmaster Cordula Merks. 

Friday, Feb 26 at 7-7:30pm
Writer for San Francisco Ballet and Dance Studio Life Editor in Chief Cheryl Ossola interviews Principal Dancer Luke Ingham.

Sunday, Feb 28 at 1-1:30pm
Lean Ops Project Manager Jennifer Kovacevich interviews Production Director Christopher Dennis.

Friday, Mar 11 at 7-7:30pm
Dance Educator Mary Wood interviews Principal Dancer Dores André.

Sunday, Mar 13 at 1-1:30pm
Director of Education and Training Andrea Yannone interviews Principal Dancer Frances Chung.

Friday, Mar 18 at 7-7:30pm
Dance Educator Mary Wood interviews Soloist Lauren Strongin.

Sunday, Mar 20 at 1-1:30pm 
Writer for San Francisco Ballet and Dance Studio Life Editor in Chief Cheryl Ossola interviews Principal Dancer Pascal Molat.

Friday, Apr 8 at 7-7:30pm
Jasmine Yep Huynh Manager of Youth Programs and Teacher Support interviews Corps de Ballet Dancer Henry Sidford.

Sunday, Apr 10 at 1-1:30pm
Artistic Administrator Caroline Giese interviews Principal Dancer Joan Boada.

Friday, Apr 15 at 7-7:30pm
Writer for San Francisco Ballet and Dance Studio Life Editor in Chief Cheryl Ossola interviews Soloist James Sofranko.

Sunday, Apr 17 at 1-1:30pm
Writer for San Francisco Ballet and Dance Studio Life Editor in Chief Cheryl Ossola interviews Principal Dancer Mathilde Froustey.

 
Please note that all programs are subject to change.
Updates on hosts and guests are posted as information becomes available.  The information, views and opinions expressed at Meet the Artist Interviews are strictly those of the participants and do not necessarily represent or imply any official position of San Francisco Ballet Association.