Program 8

Brahms-Schoenberg Quartet
Glass Pieces

MAY 1-MAY 11, 2014


Program 8: Triple-Bill

Total running time: 2 hours 22 minutes, two intermissions

The final program of the season features works by two of the greatest choreographers of the 20th century: George Balanchine and Jerome Robbins. A collaboration with composer Igor Stravinsky, Agon is a Balanchine classic: a post-modern masterpiece showcasing the strength and beauty of the human body. Set to Brahms’ Piano Quartet No 1 in G minor, Balanchine’s Brahms–Schoenberg Quartet reveals a full range of choreographic styles, musical flavors, and colorful costumes. The program concludes with Robbins’ exhilarating Glass Pieces. Set to a throbbing score by Philip Glass, Glass Pieces is a heart-stopping work that pulses with the energy of a big city.


View the available principal casting for Program 8 on our blog.

Performance Dates

Thursday, May 1, 8pm
Saturday, May 3, 2pm
Saturday, May 3, 8pm
Tuesday, May 6, 8pm
Wednesday, May 7, 7:30pm
Friday, May 9, 8pm
Sunday, May 11, 2pm

What’s the difference between a classical ballet and a neoclassical ballet? Find out in this episode of Instant Expert, as we explore the life of George Balanchine, whose work best exemplifies neoclassicism in ballet.



Composer: Igor Stravinsky
Choreographer: George Balanchine

Brahms-Schoenberg Quartet
Composer: Johannes Brahms Orchestrated by Arnold Schoenberg 1937
Choreographer: George Balanchine

Glass Pieces
Composer: Philip Glass
Choreographer: Jerome Robbins


For additional questions call Ticket Services


Monday – Friday
10 am – 4 pm

On performance days, the phones open at 10am and stay open until the performance begins.

Nutcracker Interactive Storybook
Nutcracker Interactive Storybook

Interact with San Francisco Ballet’s Nutcracker through our beautifully illustrated tablet app.
Find out more